Goodreads Choice Award for Poetry (2010-Present)


WINNER — NOMINEES — BEST POETRY — CHOSEN BY READERS.

🏆 W I N N E R (2016)

The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

WINNER 22,560 votes (95,646 VOTES TOTAL)

3.98 avg rating — 17,595 ratings

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

🥈🥉 NOMINEES (2016)

The Darkening Trapeze: Last Poems by Larry Levis

4.30 avg rating — 146 ratings


The Type by Sarah Kay

4.33 avg rating — 433 ratings


Today Means Amen by Sierra DeMulder

4.17 avg rating — 761 ratings


La Douleur Exquise by J.R. Rogue

3.99 avg rating — 315 ratings


Tales of a Receding Hairline by K.W. Peery

4.32 avg rating — 41 ratings


The Rain in Portugal: New Poems by Billy Collins

4.05 avg rating — 860 ratings


Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook

3.90 avg rating — 1,045 ratings


Whiskey Words & a Shovel II by R.H. Sin

4.11 avg rating — 2,937 ratings




🏆 W I N N E R (2015)

The Dogs I Have Kissed by Trista Mateer

WINNER 8,725 votes | 14% OF TOTAL VOTES (61,428 VOTES TOTAL)


REVIEW: “The Dogs I Have Kissed is the kind of book you could read in one sitting and the kind of book you want to tuck underneath your pillow for a month. It’s gripping and powerful and disturbingly honest. There are poems that are incredibly comforting and others that are so painful. Trista has the rare talent of writing poems that are both good and true. In terms of literary art, this chapbook is brilliant. Trista weaves together religious overtones with raw sensuality and heartache. She’s so purposeful with the imagery, connecting and breaking motifs from each section of the book: how peaches become cherries, how salt is everywhere, the shape of same-different mouths. There is this lovely irony in these poems, how sometimes the speaker of these poems is the one who is described like a dog: sloppy, rabid, hungry, whining. Maybe that’s not an irony at all. The Dogs I Have Kissed is for anyone who has felt the tough underside of love, anyone who has been angry and hurt and still strangely hopeful. One of the most striking lines in the entire book is something I keep thinking about: ‘Is this okay, is this okay, is this okay, or does it make me weak?’ Do yourself, your heart, and your current/ex/next lover a favor: buy this book. Devour it immediately.” — Yena Sharma Purmasir, author of Until I Learned What It Mean

🥈🥉 NOMINEES (2015)

What About This: Collected Poems of Frank Stanford by Frank Stanford

4.50 avg rating — 166 ratings

Pansy by Andrea Gibson

4.61 avg rating — 740 ratings

Naked Human by Christopher Poindexter

4.31 avg rating — 515 ratings

Psychaotic: See The World In Red And Black by Irum Zahra

4.20 avg rating — 108 ratings

Felicity by Mary Oliver

4.27 avg rating — 2,477 ratings

All the Words Are Yours: Haiku on Love by Tyler Knott Gregson

4.17 avg rating — 1,559 ratings

I Wrote This For You and Only You by pleasefindthis

4.23 avg rating — 2,231 ratings

Pop Sonnets: Shakespearean Spins on Your Favorite Songs by Erik Didriksen

4.15 avg rating — 727 ratings


🏆 WINNER (2014)

Lullabies by Lang Leav

WINNER 9,571 votes (75,474 VOTES TOTAL)

4.04 avg rating — 15,327 ratings

Set to a musical theme, love’s poetic journey in this new, original collection begins with a Prelude and travels through Duet, Interlude, and Requiem with an Encore popular piece from the best-selling Love & Misadventure. Lang Leav’s evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey. Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world. Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist. * Huge Crossover Audience: Hits the sweet spot of YA/Adult crossover appeal hitting both the teen fiction and love poetry bestseller lists at multiple online retailers. This is the perfect keepsake book for fans of Haruki Murakami, David Levithan, John Green, and Jenny Han. * Untapped potential:Leav has achieved a considerable amount of success with just her online profile (more than 150,000 Tumblr subscribers and 67,000+ Facebook fans; 374K Instagram followers and 214K Twitter followers). Her popularity has grown exponentially as fans share favourite poems with each other online. * UK Sales of Love & Misadventure 26K+ copies to date and growing

🥈🥉 NOMINEES (2014)

I Am the Beggar of the World: Landays from Contemporary Afghanistan by Eliza Griswold

4.27 avg rating — 348 ratings


Seam by Tarfia Faizullah

4.53 avg rating — 346 ratings


Poems That Make Grown Men Cry: 100 Men on the Words That Move Them by Anthony Holden

3.81 avg rating — 855 ratings


No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay

4.33 avg rating — 5,514 ratings


Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting by Kevin Powers

3.77 avg rating — 392 ratings


The Pedestrians by Rachel Zucker

4.21 avg rating — 212 ratings


Motherland Fatherland Homelandsexuals by Patricia Lockwood

3.85 avg rating — 1,361 ratings


I Wrote This For You: Just the Words by pleasefindthis

4.23 avg rating — 2,283 ratings


Gabriel: A Poem by Edward Hirsch

4.40 avg rating — 524 ratings


His Day Is Done: A Nelson Mandela Tribute by Maya Angelou

4.12 avg rating — 364 ratings


Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty by Christine Heppermann

3.63 avg rating — 4,092 ratings


Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine

4.30 avg rating — 15,726 ratings


Prelude to Bruise by Saeed Jones

4.30 avg rating — 1,051 ratings


Chasers of the Light: Poems from the Typewriter Series by Tyler Knott Gregson

4.28 avg rating — 6,708 ratings


Blue Horses by Mary Oliver

4.26 avg rating — 1,995 ratings


You Can Make Anything Sad by Spencer Madsen

4.09 avg rating — 321 ratings


Jessica’s Journal: A Book of Poetry by Kathryn Perez

4.16 avg rating — 196 ratings


Nejma by Nayyirah Waheed

4.06 avg rating — 2,462 ratings


What We Buried by Caitlyn Siehl

4.13 avg rating — 581 ratings




🏆 W I N N E R (2013)

The Fall of Arthur by J.R.R. Tolkien

WINNER 15,096 votes (47,441 VOTES TOTAL)


The Fall of Arthur recounts in verse the last campaign of King Arthur, who, even as he stands at the threshold of Mirkwood, is summoned back to Britain by news of the treachery of Mordred. Already weakened in spirit by Guinevere’s infidelity with the now-exiled Lancelot, Arthur must rouse his knights to battle one last time against Mordred’s rebels and foreign mercenaries. Powerful, passionate, and filled with vivid imagery, this unfinished poem reveals Tolkien’s gift for storytelling at its brilliant best.



🏆 W I N N E R (2012)

A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver

WINNER 5,520 votes (15,905 VOTES TOTAL)

4.19 avg rating — 7,238 ratings

In A Thousand Mornings, Mary Oliver returns to the imagery that has come to define her life’s work, transporting us to the marshland and coastline of her beloved home, Provincetown, Massachusetts. In these pages, Oliver shares the wonder of dawn, the grace of animals, and the transformative power of attention. Whether studying the leaves of a tree or mourning her adored dog, Percy, she is ever patient in her observations and open to the teachings contained in the smallest of moments.


🥈🥉 NOMINEES (2011)

Horoscopes for the Dead by Billy Collins

WINNER 1,260 votes (7,711 VOTES TOTAL) | 4.04 avg rating — 3217 ratings



🏆 W I N N E R (2010)

Come on All You Ghosts by Matthew Zapruder

WINNER 294 votes (1,874 VOTES TOTAL)

3.91 avg rating — 970 ratings

“Charming, melancholy, hip.” — “Publishers Weekly,” starred review”Zapruder’s innovative style is provocative in its unusual juxtapositions of line, image and enjambments. . . . Highly recommended.” — “Library Journal”Matthew Zapruder’s third book mixes humor and invention with love and loss, as when the breath of a lover is compared to “a field of titanium gravestones / growing warmer in the sun.” The title poem is an elegy for the heroes and mentors in the poet’s life — from David Foster Wallace to the poet’s father. Zapruder’s poems are direct and surprising, and throughout the book he wrestles with the desire to do well, to make art, and to face the vast events of the day.”Look out scientists! Today the unemployment rateis 9.4 percent. I have no idea what that means. I triedto think about it harder for a while. Thentried standing in an actual stance of mysteryand not knowing towards the world.Which is my job. As is staring at the back yardand for one second believing I am actuallyrising away from myself. Which is maybewhat I have in common right now with you . . . “Matthew Zapruder holds degrees from Amherst College, UC Berkeley, and the University of Massachusetts. He is the author of two previous books, including “The Pajamaist,” which won the William Carlos Williams Award and was honored by “Library Journal” with a “Best Poetry Book of the Year” listing. He lives in San Francisco and is an editor at Wave Books

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/choiceawards/best-books-2016

If you like what you read be sure to 👏 it below

FFollow me on Facebook

FFollow me on Twitter

FFollow me on RSS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s