40 Books Recommended by Brad Feld


American entrepreneur

Brad Feld is an American entrepreneur, author, blogger, and venture capitalist at Foundry Group in Boulder, Colorado, a firm he started with partners Seth Levine, Ryan McIntyre, and Jason Mendelson.

1. A Quote A Day For Entrepreneurs by A. Bartlett Thistlethwaite

A collection of 366 quotations, from sources both classical and contemporary, designed to amuse and inspire Entrepreneurs….


2. Option B by Adam Grant

From Facebook’s COO and Wharton’s top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building…


3. March: Book One by Andrew Aydin

Congressman John Lewis (GA-5) is an American icon, one of the key figures of the civil rights movement. His commitment to justice and nonviolence has taken him from an Alabama shar…


4. The Guns of August by Barbara Wertheim Tuchman

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all timeThe Proud Tower, the Pulitzer Prize–winning The Guns of August, an…


5. The God’s Eye View by Barry Eisler

NSA director Theodore Anders has a simple goal: collect every phone call, email, and keystroke tapped on the Internet. He knows unlimited surveillance is the only way to keep Ameri…


6. Disciplined Entrepreneurship Workbook by Bill Aulet

The essential companion to the book that revolutionized entrepreneurship Disciplined Entrepreneurship Workbook provides a practical manual for working the 24-step framework present…


7. But What If We’re Wrong? by Chuck Klosterman

But What If We’re Wrong? visualizes the contemporary world as it will appear to those who’ll perceive it as the distant past. Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in t…


8. Hot Seat by Dan Shapiro

What avoidable problem destroys more young startups than any other? Why is it a mistake to ask for introductions to investors? When do you play the CEO card? Should you sell out? A…


9. Cumulus by Eliot Peper

“In the not-so-distant future, economic inequality and persistent surveillance push Oakland to the brink of civil war. Lilly Miyamoto is a passionate analog photographer striving t…


10. Armada by Ernest Cline

A cinematic, inventive, heartwarming, and completely nerdtastic adventure from the bestselling author of “Ready Player One.” Zack Lightman discovers the video game he’s been playin…


11. Mad Max. Fury Road by George Miller

The same minds behind the summer’s breakout hit, Mad Max: Fury Road-writer-director George Miller, cowriter Nico Lathouris and cowriter-storyboard artist Mark Sexton-present this s…


12. All Over the Place by Geraldine Deruiter

Most travel memoirs involve a button-nosed protagonist nursing a broken heart who, rather than tearfully watching The Princess Bride while eating an entire 5-gallon vat of ice crea…


13. Devil in the Grove by Gilbert King

Devil in the Grove, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for general nonfiction, is a gripping true story of racism, murder, rape, and the law. It brings to light one of the most dramatic…


14. Compelling Science Fiction Issue 4 by Jeff Walden

Compelling Science Fiction is a magazine created by people who believe that science fiction is important. Science fiction expands the mind and drives progress through inspiration….


15. The Connection Algorithm by Jesse Tevelow

A #1 Bestseller in Entrepreneurship A #1 Bestseller in Management A #1 Bestseller in Personal Success A #1 Best…


16. Hustle by Jesse Tevelow

Jesse’s first book was a #1 bestseller. It took him a year to write it. Hustle is different. It was written, produced, and published in just 7 days. The ridiculously short producti…


17. The Inevitable by Kevin Kelly

A New York Times Bestseller From one of our leading technology thinkers and writers, a guide through the twelve technological imperatives that will shape the next thirty years and…


18. The Curve by Nicholas Lovell

It’s the ultimate business question of our time: How do real companies make money when customers expect (and often get) products for free? There are millions of potential customers…


19. Superintelligence by Nick Bostrom

Human beings occupy a dominant position on our planet, not because we have stronger muscles or sharper teeth than other species, but because we have smarter brains. Our brains deve…


20. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a t…


21. The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

In a classic work of alternate history, the United States is divided up and ruled by the Axis powers after the defeat of the Allies during World War II. Reissue. Winner of the Hugo…


22. The Innovation Blind Spot by Ross Baird

Founder of Village Capital identifies the -blind spots- in the current innovation economy and reveals how investors can find the groundbreaking opportunities that too often go over…


23. Quiet by Susan Cain

A former Wall Street attorney, business coach and creator of ThePowerofIntroverts.com demonstrates how introverted people are misunderstood and undervalued in today’s culture, char…


24. The Soul of A New Machine by Tracy Kidder

Computers have changed since 1981, when Tracy Kidder memorably recorded the drama, comedy, and excitement of one companys efforts to bring a new microcomputer to market. What has n…


25. A Truck Full of Money by Tracy Kidder

“A perfectly executed, exquisitely reported parable of the Internet age and the wild, mad adventure that is start-up culture.” — Charles Duhigg Fortune, mania, genius, philanthropy — t…


26. The Inner Game of Tennis by W. Timothy Gallwey

How to improve your game and discover your true potential by increasing your concentration, willpower and confidence. The Inner Game of tennis is that which takes place in our mind…


27. The Peripheral by William Gibson

Flynne Fisher lives in rural near-future America where jobs are scarce and veterans from the wars are finding it hard to recover. She scrapes a living doing some freelance online g…


28. The Supreme Court by William H. Rehnquist

The chief justice of the United States Supreme Court describes the history, evolution, and operations of the Court, discusses cases, actions, and rulings, and examines the relation…


29. Kill Process by William Hertling

By day, Angie, a twenty-year veteran of the tech industry, is a data analyst at Tomo, the world’s largest social networking company; by night, she exploits her database access to p…


30. The Business Blockchain by William Mougayar

The definitive pioneering blueprint covering the what, why and how of the blockchain. Blockchains are new technology layers that rewire the Internet and threaten to side-step older…


31. Shoe Dog A Memoir by the Creator of Nike by Phil Knight

A refreshingly honest reminder of what the path to business success really looks like …It’s an amazing tale’ Bill Gates ‘The best book I read last year was Shoe Dog, by Nike’s Phil Knight….


32. Startup Rising The Entrepreneurial Revolution Remaking the Middle East by Christopher M. Schroeder

Despite the world’s elation at the Arab Spring, shockingly little has changed politically in the Middle East; even frontliners Egypt and Tunisia continue to suffer repression, fixed elections, and bombings, while Syria descends into civil war….


33. The Third Wave An Entrepreneur’s Vision of the Future by Steve Case

The #1 New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller from Steve Case — the co-founder of AOL — presents “a compelling roadmap for the future…that can help us make sense of the technological changes reshaping our economy and the world. A fascinating read” (Sheryl Sandberg, Facebook COO and founder of LeanIn.org)….


34. Back from the Dead by Bill Walton

“An elegiac yet exuberant new memoir” (The New York Times Book Review) — Bill Walton’s New York Times bestselling memoir about his recovery from debilitating physical injury and how lessons from John Wooden at UCLA (and the music of the Grateful Dead) have inspired his darkest hours….


35. Dark Money The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right by Jane Mayer

NATIONAL BESTSELLER; ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR; Who are the immensely wealthy right-wing ideologues shaping the fate of America today? From the bestselling author of The Dark Side, an electrifying work of investigative journalism that uncovers the agenda of this powerful group….


36. Neon Fever Dream by Eliot Peper

A dark secret hides in the swirling dust and exultant revelry of Burning Man.; Asha Amarasuriya is bored and struggling to get by as a martial arts instructor in Oakland. When an enigmatic seductress offers her a golden ticket, Asha decides to take a leap of faith and head to Burning Man….


37. Where the Jobs Are Entrepreneurship and the Soul of the American Economy by John Dearie, Courtney Geduldig

A guide to ending America’s jobs emergency by accelerating the true engine of job creation — start-ups Four years after the end of the Great Recession, 23 million Americans remain unemployed, underemployed, or have left the workforce discouraged. Even worse, Washington policymakers seem out of ideas…


38. vN The First Machine Dynasty by Madeline Ashby

Amy is a Von Neumann humanoid — grown in a stable family environment, with her robot mother and human father. But alone of all her kind, known as the von Neumanns, her human-protecting failsafe has stopped working. Soon she is on the run from the law, and worse — everyone’s after her, some to use her as a weapon, others to destroy her….


39. The Alliance : Managing Talent in the Networked Age by Reid Hoffman.

A New York Times Bestseller Introducing the new, realistic loyalty pact between employer and employee. The employer-employee relationship is broken, and managers face a seemingly impossible dilemma: the old model of guaranteed long-term employment no longer works in a business environment defined by continuous change, but neither does a system in which every employee acts like a free agent. The solution? Stop thinking of employees as either family or as free agents. Think of them instead as allies…


40. No Better Time by Molly Knight


Books written by Brad Feld

1. Venture Deals by Brad Feld and Jason Mendelson

2. Startup Boards by Brad Feld and Mahendra Ramsinghani

3. Do More Faster by Brad Feld and David Cohen

4. Startup Communities by Brad Feld


If you like what you read be sure to 👏 it below

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s